Welcome to Plbg.com Welcome to the Popular Plumbing, Kitchen, Bath Advice Site
The Leading Online Plumbing Supplier Since 1995
www.PlumbingForum.com
THE Dynamic Plumbing, Kitchen and Bath, Information, Advice and Sharing Forum

Over 520,000 Posts in over 150k Threads

By far the most popular positive STRICTLY PLUMBING INFORMATION SHARING FORUM board on the Net. Ask any toilet, sink, faucet, pump, water quality and other plumbing related questions here. Plumbing professional and DIY tips, tricks, shortcuts, remodeling, plumbing advice forum and blog. Please refrain from asking business, pricing, legal or any other non strictly plumbing related questions and we also ask for only positive comments and no advertising. 

New TopicSearchLog In Newest Messages
 Replumb single to double bathroom sinks
Author: quantumburnz (VA)

Hello everyone!
First off, please pardon my lack of plumbing terminology. I'm by no means a pro but merely a learning DIYer who wants to do things correctly.

I'm redoing a hallway bathroom and I want to convert the old 60" single sink vanity to a new 60" double sink vanity. Picture #1 below shows how the plumbing was centered in the middle of the old vanity and #2 shows what I think the plumbing probably looks like behind the wall. This is similar to how the plumbing for the tub and shower looked. There is a bedroom on the other side of the wall.

Picture #3 is the new vanity I'm looking at, and I think it'll require me to replumb the wall with two sets of pipes coming out of the wall (a drain pipe and two water supply lines for each sink). I've considered installing a splitter on the supply lines and a "Y" fitting from to the two sinks down to the single drain pipe. However, I don't think this configuration would work with these vanities. Please correct me if I'm wrong as I'm sure you'd save me a ton of time.

Final question -- What's the best "correct" way to replumb the wall for this two sink configuration? Thank you in advance for the help!!